Completed Robert Mandan Transcript

Since the last book took nearly three years to complete, I now have a tremendous urge to keep the Soap book on track and to get it done as quickly as possible. It helps tremendously that I conducted several interviews back in 2008 when I first began this project. One of those was with the wonderful Robert Mandan (Chester). I just finished up transcribing our talk last night.

I’m bowled over by how erudite the Soap cast are, and what a presence they have, even when you’re chatting with them over the phone. There is something about the classically trained stage actor. Mr. Mandan was also exceedingly forthcoming about what went on behind the scenes of Soap, and shared some pretty hilarious stories.

As for Bob Mandan, well, some people you just know you’re going to like right away. The moment he told me he wanted to be a Larch (ala Monty Python), I knew this was going to be a great conversation.

Leave a Reply

