Ted Wass Interview Transcribed

Considering that Ted Wass played one of the slowest characters on Soap (which is saying something), he has proved himself to be one of the sharpest to come out of that series.

While he did a fair amount of acting after the show, he found his calling in directing a host of television shows, including  Two and a Half Men, Spin City, Caroline in the City and many more. As it turns out, he started down that career path by watching one of the most respected directors in American TV history — Soap‘s own Jay Sandrich.

Not only was Wass forthcoming on this point during our discussion for the book, but also he helped me better understand some of the toll that the controversy surrounding Soap had on the making of the show.

5 comments on “Ted Wass Interview Transcribed

  1. I loved watching SOAP and at fourteen I asked my mother if we could go to a taping. She said if you get the tickets I will take you. I got the tickets and she wrote a note to take me out of school early and we went to Sunset Gower Studios on September 28th 1978. (You had to be sixteen but no one questioned me due to the type of tickets I had.) An experience that changed my life. I still have my ticket and also Rod Roddy’s autograph.

    I’ve met and worked with many cast and crew members over the years and have watched Ted Wass act and direct many times and he is awesome. Richard Mulligan was a doll when I was working on the Emmy’s and talked to him on the rehearsal day…a memory I will cherish always!

    Looking forward to your book!
    LEE

    • Wow, Lee, it sounds like your life has had many once-in-a-lifetime experiences relating to “Soap.” I’d love to hear more about them. If it wouldn’t be too much trouble, why not drop me a line at asberman813 (at) gmail.com — I’d love to hear more about your Soap memories.

      • I’d love to and I will…very soon!

        Take care and thanks for all the work you have done on the SOAP project!

        LEE
        PS I thought I should mention I’m a Female Lee cause sometimes people can’t tell.

  2. Pingback: The 80's » Ted Wass Interview Transcribed « Soap! The Sitcom that Broke all …

Leave a Reply

