Paul Witt’s Latest: ‘A Better Life’


Apologies for the lack of blog updates lately; please understand that’s a good thing, as it means I’ve been up to my eyeballs working on this book 🙂

I’ll be bringing everybody up to date on Soap! The Inside Story… in a few days. In the meantime, I wanted to post the trailer for A Better Life, a movie co-produced by Soap co-producer Paul Witt, and directed by Chris Weitz (About a Boy). The movie, initially called The Gardener, is expected to get a limited theatrical release in June.

While it’s always interesting to see what the minds behind Soap have been up to, I have to admit I really liked this trailer for the humanity it brings to a situation that has become so heavily politicized over the years, especially in Arizona: immigration. (For the record, I’ve lived in Arizona and will be returning to live there in a few months.)

Occasionally you see this subject tackled sympathetically outside the US, but rarely by films released inside the country. Though I know it probably won’t be seen by the “I hate having to dial 1 for English” crowd, it’s nice to see somebody out there telling a story that could actually use some telling.

Don’t worry, there will be another men behaving badly/rom-com hitting the multiplex next week, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

