‘Soap’: 30 Years Ago Today

[Thanks to Soap fan Jeff for reminding me of today’s anniversary.]

Thirty years ago today, ABC succumbed to nearly four years of pressure from advertisers and activists, and pulled the plug on Soap with Season 4, Episode 16. Chances are good that if you’re reading this blog, you probably regret that decision. However, as even a casual search through the world brain that is the web reveals, April 20th has been a pretty rum date throughout modern history. Consider:

So all in all, Soap‘s premature ending is in….pretty lousy company, actually.

2 comments on “‘Soap’: 30 Years Ago Today

  1. I’ve been watching Soap for the first time since the first-time-around, and am so pleased that it’s as fresh & good-natured as I remembered it. Compared to today’s mean-spirited us/them “debates” it’s downright sweet… What a crowd of talent! Was looking up Jimmy Baio when came upon this site- from the start he created a distinct, likeable, quick-witted character- to keep up with that group would be a challenge at any age/experience level! I couldn’t pick a favorite if I tried…

    • I couldn’t agree with you more about the good-natured aspect of Soap, Vivian. That was one of the things that struck me when I started rewatching the show for the book, especially with an eye to all the controversy that sprang up around it. I expected to discover that it was far more acerbic than I’d remembered, but the truth is that it doesn’t seem to have a mean bone in its body.

Leave a Reply

