‘Soap’ Goes to School

Hi gang. We received this “Soap” story this weekend and didn’t want anyone to miss it, particularly the school play story. Enjoy! – Aaron

I stumbled across this site a couple of weeks ago and am eagerly awaiting the release of the book. What a great idea, and a long time coming! I absolutely loved this show and have for more than 34 years.

I was able to catch several episodes during its original run in the 70’s (I was 11 when it premiered) when my parents would let me stay up – most of the show flew over my head at that time but I remembered loving Chuck and Bob and the physical comedy of Burt.

When I was in the 5th Grade, I convinced our English/Theater teacher that our 5th Grade Play should be an “original” episode of Soap and that my best friend and I would write it. I was the tallest kid in the glass, and my best friend (another Soap fan at age 12) was the shortest. Of course, I was Chuck and he was Bob and I’d carry him all around stage while reciting lines. I wish I still had the script….we cooked up some bizarre story lines and had all of the Soap regulars represented. It ran about 40 minutes, and we did three shows (2 for the school, 1 for the parents). Looking back, I can’t believe they let a bunch of 12 year olds do a semi-parody of an adult, controversial sitcom. My how times have changed!

By the time I got into high school in the mid-80’s, Soap was syndicated and airing on local TV stations….since it was a serialized storyline, all the episodes ran in order and the local stations would get two or three complete runs done in a year. It was around then that our family got our first VCR, and I managed to record the entire series in order….I was in heaven.

A year or so later, I got a second VCR and re-duped my original BETA cassettes to VHS and edited out all the commercials. I literally had Soap running in my room every day whether I was directly watching it or not….it served as my background noise to doing homework, cleaning, etc. etc. After a couple years, I could recite just about any line of dialog from the 4 season history of the show. I watched those tapes for YEARS.

I picked up the DVDs many years ago but never got around to watching them. Then while building a Movie/TV media server for our family room a couple years ago, I thought about Soap again and ripped the DVDs to individual files and put them in my media server database. I spot checked the files to make sure everything was in sync, then promptly forgot about them again. Then about 2 months ago, I got a hankering to watch Soap again in its entirety so I put them on my iPad to take with me as I traveled for business.

What a wickedly pleasant surprise….these episodes are the entire ORIGINAL episodes as they originally aired whereas my brain and memory was hardwired to the chopped up and edited syndicated versions of those shows that I had watched for years. Each episode has anywhere from 1 to 4 minutes of extra dialog (often complete conversations or even mini-scenes) that I’d not seen before. And in this new context, it makes some of the seemingly abrupt editing in the syndicated episodes of the show make more sense!

I’m enjoying Soap at a whole new level with the “new” dialog/scene additions. Looking forward to the book!

-Kris

10 comments on “‘Soap’ Goes to School

  1. I can totally relate to this. I taped the syndicated versions in the ’80’s and know them so well that every new line from the original versions on DVD sticks out to me.

Leave a Reply

