The ‘Soap’ Book is Done

Quite frankly I never thought I’d be able to say it,  but there we are. After one last marathon session, Pamela and I uploaded the book to the publisher last night. People, it’s done 🙂

Many of you know just how long and hard this project was to complete, with all of the work of writing and designing being squeezed in between “day job” work, evenings and weekends. As always, thank you to everyone who has rooted for its completion. You know, despite the five years it took to finish, I don’t recall a single person griping about the long gestation. That meant everything to me.

So What’s Next?

Well, with any luck, this baby gets printed in the next couple of weeks or so and the people who pre-ordered it will receive a copy to call their own. As always, orders can be placed here, or soon on Amazon.

In the meantime, there are a couple of things that need doing this week:

1) Update the cover image on the blog. A few days ago Pamela got inspired and tweaked the cover a bit, for the better, I think.

2) More preview pages. We’ll upload a few more spreads from the book, as well as the back cover. It’s a little difficult deciding what to share because the sections I’m most proud of are also the ones that I want people to be pleasantly surprised to find while reading it. I don’t really want to “give everything away in the movie trailer,” you know? Still, nice problem to have.

3) Launch party. We’ve never really had one for one of our books before, so we’re hoping to put something together for this one. We had some tentative plans to do something in LA…we’ll see if that’s still doable.

All right, everybody, take a deep breath. Now the fun begins 🙂

All the best,

Aaron

14 comments on “The ‘Soap’ Book is Done

  1. Congratulations to you both. I cannot wait to see the finished product, but I have no doubt whatsoever that it will be outstanding because it has been evident here how much care you have taken and thought you have lavished on this project.

  2. Thank you, Lee. There’s always a deep dread that sets in the day after sending a book off to press about what horrible clangers might’ve found their way into it — there are a few in The Gilmore Girls Companion that still rankle three years on. But at the end of the day, I think people who like Soap will find a lot to like in the book, and will definitely come away having learned much that they never knew before. That’s the hope, anyway.

  3. Congrats to you and Pamela! This will be one for the ages. Based on what we’ve seen, I know we’re in for a good time. Now it remains to turn your attention to the magnum opus, your “Two and a Half Men” coffee table book.

    • Thanks, Jeff. I’m really tempted, but I don’t think we’re going to be able to tear ourselves away from writing “The Honey Boo-Book.”

    • Thanks, Becky. We can’t wait for someone ELSE to read it. I can’t speak for Pamela, but I for one have memorized far too much of it at this point.

  4. So exciting! Still can’t believe this book is happening. It sounds like it was written for me. Keep us posted on the launch party. (I’m in LA — if it’s open to the public, I’ll be there.) Congrats!

    • Thanks, Sean. And of course it would be open to the public. I fall asleep by 8 so SOMEBODY has to be there to do the talking.

Leave a Reply

